Teachers, Community Members Honored at APSEF Annual Breakfast

aefbreakfast106.jpgNearly 300 APS staff and Aurora community and business members and elected officials attended the annual Aurora Public Schools Education Foundation Breakfast Celebration. The event and fundraiser honored community members who go "above and beyond" to support APSEF and the APS community, and it recognized APS students and staff who have benefited from APSEF scholarships and grants.

Rick Sallinger of Channel 4 Denver emceed the event, APS Superintendent John L. Barry and APSEF chair Terri Whitley welcomed everyone to the breakfast, and Ms. Ceal Barry, former head coach of the championship winning Women's Basketball Team at CU Boulder, provided the inspirational keynote address.

APSEF recognized teachers who recei vd grants or scholarships through APSEF, including Aurora Central H.S. teacher and grant winnerMichelle Otte and Sable Elementary teacher and scholarship winner Krista Ullestad.

APSEF also inducted this year's "Circle of Champions" -- community members who go "above and beyond" to support APSEF and the APS community:

  • Janet Kiyota - Trion Promotion and Design
  • Bret Baumgartner - Carrabba's Italian Grill
  • Dr. Chad & Carol Emrick & Family - Matthew Emrick Memorial Scholarship
  • Rachael Gregoire - Aurora Schools Federal Credit Union

The Rangeview H.S. Choir provided the event's musical entertainment.