Bright Future Ahead for Class of 2016 Scholarship Recipients


Grad-clip-artThe Aurora Public Schools' class of 2016 was not shy when it came to applying for scholarships and grants for college. This year’s graduating seniors took full advantage of the opportunity to earn dollars -- totaling more than $13 million -- for their higher education. Read highlights of some of the students who have earned scholarships so far this year!

  • The Aurora Public Schools Foundation has chosen the following award recipients for their robust scholarship program:
    • Advantage Security Scholarship
      Kiefer Quinn – Gateway
    • Richard Anderson and Anderson Family Autism Scholarship
      Kendall Knighten – Rangeview
    • James Burns Memorial Scholarship
      Adrianna Linnebur  – Gateway
    • Bob Caviness Scholarship
      Alan Rios – Hinkley
    • Denise Davis Teen Parent Scholarship
      Mayra Avila  /  Aurora Central
    • Gerkin Family Expository Writing Scholarship
      Layla Abdulla – Gateway
      Jesus Gandara – Aurora Central
    • Matt Hirschfeld Scholarship
      Darrien Hammond – Gateway*
    • Kristin D Hiza Memorial Scholarship
      Alexander Hawkins – Vista Peak
    • Linn Hogue Memorial Scholarship
      Augustina Uwandu –  Hinkley
    • Jack Knapp Memorial Scholarship
      Sydney Hunt – Rangeview    
    • Vista Peak Business Pathway Scholarship
      Vicky Ramirez / Vista Peak*
    • Lore H. Wiggins Scholarship
      Esmeralda Campos / Gateway*
    • Myrtle Replogle Travis and Russell Romayne Travis Memorial Scholarship
      Jesus Gandara /  Aurora Central*
    • Nora Jane Crocker Redding Scholarship
      Madaleen Newhouse  /  Rangeview

      *The specific school is a requirement of the scholarship

  • Seven talented and highly-skilled students were recently named 2016 Daniels Scholars. The Daniels Fund Scholarship covers all required tuition and fees, room and board, books and supplies and other miscellaneous college expenses. Students earned the investment by persevering through an extremely competitive process that involved more than 2,200 applicants.
  • Gateway High School senior Kellie Lam is a 2016 Greenhouse Scholar. Greenhouse Scholars, an education non-profit organization, serves low-income college students who are exceptionally high performing. Scholars are selected based on academic achievement, service to community, demonstrated leadership skills, and financial need. 
  • Rangeview High School's Alexis Wall earned a 2016 Boettcher Scholarship! She was one of only 42 students selected from more than 1,400 applicants. The Boettcher is one of Colorado’s most prestigious, merit-based scholarships, providing students a full ride to any in-state, four-year institution.
  • A host of APS seniors from various high schools participated in internships this year through the Pickens Technical College Executive Internship Program. The program committee presented $500 scholarships to students Joseph Graff, Sydney Hunt and Raymond Simanjuntak
  • Aurora Central's Andy Guerrero is a 2016 Horatio Alger Association National Scholarship recipient. The prestigious award will grant Guerrero $22,000 – an average of $5,500 per year – to apply toward the tuition at his selected college or university. 


Visit to read more and celebrate our class of 2016 graduates and scholarship recipients!

APS 2020: Shaping the Future Strategic Plan - Core Belief:
Students take an active and ongoing responsibility for their learning.