Supt. Message: Board of Education Results

APS Staff:

Happy Veterans Day! Thank you to all the brave men and women who have served and currently serve our country. We are reminded of their great sacrifices every day, but especially today. Please take time to thank our veterans for their dedicated service to our nation.

I also want to take an opportunity to provide an update on our recent Board election. On Nov. 7, Aurora voters elected four new members of the APS Board of Education. Congratulations to our new members Dr. Kyla Armstrong-Romero, Kevin Cox, Debra Gerkin and Marques Ivey.* They will join Board members Monica Colbert, Dr. Dan Jorgensen and Cathy Wildman. I look forward to partnering with our new Board of Education on the important work that lies ahead.

*Based on election day results. Please note that military and overseas ballots are being accepted until Nov. 15. Adams and Arapahoe counties are expected to certify final election counts by Nov. 24.*

I would also like to thank outgoing Board members Amber Drevon, Eric Nelson, Dr. JulieMarie Shepherd Macklin and Barbara Yamrick for their loyalty and service to our students, staff and community.  The last meeting of the current Board will be next Tuesday, November 14th.

Please join us on November 28 for a dessert reception to welcome our newly-elected Board members and honor outgoing members for the important roles they play in helping every student shape a successful future.

APS Board of Education Reception
Tuesday, Nov. 28
5:30 p.m.
APS Professional Learning and Conference Center
15771 E. 1st Ave., Aurora, CO 80011

I encourage you to stay for the 6 p.m. Board of Education meeting to witness new Board members take the oath of office.

Rico Munn
Aurora Public Schools

“My job is to accelerate learning for every APS student, every day.  I do my job by making sure we have the right people, doing the right work, with the right resources in the right way.  My community needs me to do my job.”