APS Swears in New Board Members, Appoints Officers

New APS Board members left to right: Kyla Armstrong-Romero, Ph.D., Marques Ivey, J.D., Kevin Cox and Debra Gerkin.

Congratulations to our new Board of Education members Kyla Armstrong-Romero, Ph.D., Kevin Cox, Debra Gerkin and Marques Ivey, J.D.. These Aurora citizens recently took an oath of office to join veteran Board members Monica Colbert, Dan Jorgensen , Ph.D. and Cathy Wildman. The Board also elected the following new officers:

  • Marques Ivey, J.D., President
  • Kyla Armstrong-Romero, Ph.D., Vice President
  • Kevin Cox, Treasurer
  • Debbie Gerkin, Secretary

The seven-member Board establishes district policies, adopts the district’s annual budget, approves curriculum and addresses the interests of our community while operating within state and federal laws. Each will serve a four-year term and receive no monetary compensation.

We thank our outgoing Board members Amber Drevon, Eric Nelson, JulieMarie Shepherd Macklin, Ph.D. and Barbara Yamrick for their hard work and dedication to our students, staff and community.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.