Honoring Our Board of Education Members for Their Dedication to Students

APS Board of Education Board members clockwise from top left: Board Director Cathy Wildman, Board Vice President Kyla Armstrong-Romero, Ph.D., Board Director Dan Jorgensen, Ph.D., Board Secretary Debra E. Gerkin, Board Director Monica Colbert, Board Treasurer Kevin Cox, APS Superintendent Rico Munn, and Board President Marques Ivey, J.D.

January is School Board Recognition Month! This is a time to pay homage to our Board of Education members for the vital role they play in our schools and communities. We are grateful for the sacrifices each Board member makes to help every student shape a successful future.

Members of our Board represent various walks of life and join forces to help Aurora Public Schools meet the diverse educational needs of each student. They devote their lives to advocating for public education; participating in school functions; reviewing reports, proposals and agendas; approving the district budget and much more—all on their personal time.

Board members receive no financial compensation for the countless hours they serve.

In APS, we believe student achievement and growth are driven by a highly-effective and respected staff working as a team. We are thankful to have these selfless men and women on our team. Please take a moment to express your gratitude to our Board members for their incredible leadership, undying dedication and profound desire to maintain our district’s momentum in accelerating learning for every student, every day.