Aurora Community Elects New Board Members

Congratulations to the APS Board of Education members who were elected on Nov. 5. Stephanie Mason, Nichelle Ortiz and Vicki Reinhard will join Marques Ivey, Kyla Armstrong-Romero, Kevin Cox and Debra Gerkin on the Board.*

Stephanie Mason

Nichelle Ortiz

Vicki Reinhard

APS thanks outgoing Board members Monica Colbert, Dr. Dan Jorgensen and Cathy Wildman for their years of hard work and service to our students, staff and community.

The APS Board of Education is a group of citizens elected by voters to provide leadership and establish policies for the school district. The seven-member board is elected at-large. Members serve four-year terms and receive no monetary compensation.

Board meetings are generally held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6 p.m. Meetings are open to the public.

For more information, including the latest Board of Education news, visit

*Based on election day results. Please note that military and overseas ballots are being accepted until Nov. 13. Adams and Arapahoe counties are expected to certify final election counts by Nov. 27. 

You are invited!

Please join us on Dec. 3 for a dessert reception to welcome our newly-elected Board members and honor outgoing members for the important roles they play in helping every student shape a successful future.

APS Board of Education Reception
Tuesday, Dec. 3
5 p.m.

APS Professional Learning and Conference Center
15771 E. 1st Ave., Aurora, CO 80011

Attendees are encouraged to stay for the 5:30 p.m. Board of Education meeting to support our new Board members as they take the oath of office.