APS Celebrates School Board Recognition Month!

APS Board of Education Board members clockwise from top left: Board Director Vicki Reinhard, Board Director Stephanie Mason, Board Director Nichelle Ortiz, Board Treasurer Marques Ivey, J.D., Board President Kyla Armstrong-Romero, Ph.D., Board Secretary Debra E. Gerkin, APS Superintendent Rico Munn, and Board Vice President Kevin Cox.

January is School Board Recognition Month! Aurora Public Schools joins other districts from across the state to honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for Colorado school children and public schools. This is a time to recognize the individuals charged with important and sometimes difficult decisions that affect the future of our children and community.

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for our district. They participate in school functions; review reports, proposals and agendas; approve the district budget; and much more- all on their personal time and without compensation. They volunteer hundreds of hours and an immeasurable amount of energy to ensure that our schools are providing the best education possible for our children. 

We encourage everyone to take a moment to express gratitude to these selfless individuals for their incredible leadership and dedication to our students, families, staff and community.

Learn more about our APS Board of Education members at boe.aurorak12.org.

Did You Know? 

The APS Board of Education holds monthly meetings, which are open to the public. All meetings are held remotely due to COVID-19. Live streaming of all Board meetings are available at boe.aurorak12.org/live. Recorded broadcasts can be accessed on the BOE Meetings page as well.

Meetings are generally held on the third Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m.